Dancing in the Streets: A sample of the springtime social calendar in the D

My dance card is quite busy this weekend and next, and why?  It’s festival time in Detroit!  Indulge me as I brag about my plans.

This weekend (Memorial Day weekend):

Last night I met some friends at the delectable and unbelievably cheap Pupusería y Restaurante Salvadoreño, a Salvadoran restaurant on a rather desolate stretch of Livernois on the Southwest side of Detroit.   It was my second visit.  Among the dishes we shared were yucca frita, platanos fritos, and a number of different pupusas.  There was no wait time, and the waitress was very accommodating of our large party.  Definitely check it out, and don’t be discouraged by the location.

On my way, I found myself driving right behind a Critical Mass event.  Most motorists hate getting stuck behind a hundred or so bicyclists, but I wasn’t in a hurry, the cyclists looked pretty happy, and it’s always cheering to see a crowd materialize out of thin air on an otherwise empty street in an otherwise empty neighborhood in Detroit.

Then we headed over to the Third Street Saloon for the monthly Guerilla Queer Bar.  Music was just OK, and we didn’t stay long because I am old and we had to drive back to Ann Arbor, but there was a reasonable number of cute guys.

Tomorrow, I’m going to try to make it to DEMF for the first time in three years.  I haven’t really listened to any of the Sunday acts, but the people-watching is always good and I could use the physical workout I always get from a full day dancing at DEMF.

Next weekend (June 3-5):

I’ll be back at Hart Plaza for the second weekend in a row.  Motor City Pride, duh!  Which will feature a parade this year.   There will be a Ferndale Pride too, which is somewhat controversial, but we will likely make a cameo at that too.  I was impressed by Detroit blogger Supergay’s effort to gather Detroit businesses to sponsor Pride as a way to show to doubters that Detroit is gay-friendly, too.  As it turns out, he was quite successful, reporting that as of May 6 he had “raised over $6500 from a whole slew of downtown independent merchants who are proud to be sponsors of Pride.”

There are a few Pride evening parties, some official and some not, but I’ll wager the real party is going to be in Royal Oak, where Robyn is singing on Saturday night.  That’s where I’ll be!  (if I can get my hands on my tickets, which still haven’t arrived…)

The weekend after:  I’ll be visiting North Carolina for the first time ever, for a wedding in Durham.  I’ll put on my Urban Adventurer hat so I can report back on Durham, Chapel Hill, & Raleigh.  So stay tuned and if you have any suggestions on what to do or see, or where to eat or drink, leave a comment.

One response to “Dancing in the Streets: A sample of the springtime social calendar in the D

  1. Pingback: A month in Motown | Motown To Tree Town

Leave a Reply

