Back from the dead (The ghost of Christmas present)


It’s been since April 26, the datestamp tells me, that I last blogged here.

There’s been so much change, both in my life and in the communities I live, over those 8 months, too much to really cover here.  Some of the change has been really awesome (though it appears many of my fellow Ann Arborites would dispute that).  Some of it has been really, really awesome.  I got most of what I wanted this year, politically speaking — more than I could have hoped for.  Even the skyline of Ann Arbor has morphed rapidly this year, as a sequence of student high-rises sprouted from the southeast at Forest & South U north and west to William and Washington streets.  As I type this, a new development is finally going up on a long-abandoned brownfield across from Whole Foods on Washtenaw, one that will spawn perpetual Carmageddon and force UM workers to begin to re-evaluate their commutes.

In my own personal life, I went through a short but shattering break up, followed by a series of at least 3 minor nervous breakdowns.  Cumulatively they made me start to re-evaluate the status quo I’d built for myself since I came to Ann Arbor in 2008.  I still really love in Ann Arbor in some ways.  You don’t need me to tell you it’s a special place.  I think I could be happy here if circumstances were different.  But the closest thing I have to family in Southeast Michigan is in Detroit.  I hate living alone and, as my boo the incomparable Luther Vandross noted, a house is not a home.

I’m in the process of maybe/possibly/probably moving back to Detroit, in the process divesting myself of my cosy and charming condo* in Pittsfield Village (a delightful and welcoming community I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to anyone).  So the focus of this blog, insofar as I bother to update it, might start to shift a bit to reflect that.

For those of you who left me in your Google Reader during the long hibernation of this blog, I hope you continue to follow along, give me a piece of your mind, and direct me toward worthy objects of commentary.

*PS it’s an end unit AND updated with 2 bedrooms less than a 10-minute walk from the #22 or #4, so you really ought to just hurry up and make me an offer already.

6 responses to “Back from the dead (The ghost of Christmas present)

  1. Would you consider renting your home?

  2. I could be VERY interested! My current lease ends Feb. 28th. Could you email me with what you’re looking for in regards to rent, deposit, and move in date? Thank you in advance!

    andreablohm@live.com

  3. I should tell you, I am very interested in Pittsfield Village and have liked it for quite some time. This is the only opportunity I’ve come across. I look forward to hearing from you!

  4. Alas, I have a renter through the end of August! In the meantime you should post on the PV Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/pittsfieldvillage. Sometimes people will post units for rent there. Also craigslist.

  5. Ahhh, I see. Thank you for your reply. I’ve been keeping up with both FB and Craigslist. Thank you again! I’ll keep you in mind around August if I come up with a short term lease.

Leave a Reply

